Object - Bell

Weekly Photo Challenge: Object – Part 2

This weeks “Weekly Photo Challenge” is Object, my first post is here. After reading Raphael Zoren’s post for the Weekly Photo Challenge it reminded me of two objects I brought back from Thailand, that I love. The first is a singing bowl.

In 2009, on my first visit to Thailand, I was in search of a singing bowl. I’m not sure why, I just was. I also found myself having a hard time getting it to “sing” in the store(s). One evening, close to the end of our trip, I finally got it! I was elated. I bought the bowl and brought it home. When my mom came for a visit she fell in love with it; I ended up giving it to her as a birthday gift.

In 2010 my friend and I went back to Thailand. This time we ended up buying 3 bowls! One for my dad, as he also liked the bowl I had brought back in 2009 (but didn’t say anything). One for my friends’ daughter. And this one…for me. The image is minus the wooden striker.

In case you’re wondering how to make it “sing”, you hold the bowl in one hand (with an open palm). With the other hand you hold the long, wooden striker and you move your wrist in a circular motion as the striker rides along the ridge. It’s very similar to making a crystal goblet/glass “sing” with your wet finger(s).

Object - Singing Bowl

Object – Singing Bowl minus the wood striker

Gear used/Specs (bowl):
Olympus OM-D E-M5
m. Zuiko 12-50mm kit lens @ 13mm
ISO 200
Aperture: f/3.7
Shutter Speed: 0.8 seconds

My other favorite object is a bell that was bought in 2009 at the same store where I had gotten the first singing bowl. I just liked the design of it.

Object - Bell

Object – Bell

Post processed in Lightroom
Gear used/Specs (bell):
Olympus OM-D E-M5
m. Zuiko 12-50mm kit lens @ 13mm
ISO 200
Aperture: f/3.7
Shutter Speed: 0.6 seconds

Post processed in Lightroom

Click here for more “Object” posts and scroll down to the Comments and/or Trackbacks & Pingbacks.

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Object – Part 2

  1. Pingback: 2-6-14 Weekly Foto Challenge Object # 3 (Lagniappe) | The Quotidian Hudson

Leave a comment