Sun Shine

Malibu Creek State Park – Part I

This has been sitting in my Draft folder for over a week now. I’ve decided to break it up into different parts.

On Saturday, November 9th, the meetup.com hiking group I belong to (and myself) went on an early morning hike in Malibu Creek State Park. At 7:30 a.m. it was a nippy 43 degrees, and there I was, in shorts and no gloves! I knew I’d warm up pretty quickly once we started hiking, but waiting for the others to show up needed some sort of diversion. Looking across the street I noticed a building and the surrounding trees bathed in the early morning yellow glow. Oh, and there were clouds!! (We have about 300 days of nothing but clear, blue skies…so seeing clouds is a big deal for us/me.) My numb fingers had a hard time with the dials, but I managed to get the picture.

Early Light

Olympus OM-D E-M5 with the 12-50mm lens @ 13mm
f/6.3 – 1/500 – ISO 200

As we were waiting for the last person to show up we saw about 5 deer walking in the field across the street. I don’t know how many may have passed through before I saw my first one and pointed it out to the others.

When the last person showed up we were ready to go. Almost as soon as we started on the Grass Trail I happened to glance to my left and saw the sun peeking through a tree. I adjusted my camera settings and took the picture.

Sun Shine

Olympus OM-D E-M5 with the 12-50mm lens @ 13mm
f/22 – 1/40 – ISO 250

Story continues with more photos in Part II…

Leave a Reply

