Century Lake

MALIBU CREEK STATE PARK – PART III

We finally made it to Century Lake around 10:15 a.m. We all seemed to be enjoying the slower pace and taking time at the Rock Pool. I’m not totally crazy about the images I took at the lake this time, but something weird and totally unexpected happened. I was heading to a different location of the lake (closer to the dam) and after setting up the tripod I was going to take a picture only to find that somehow the shutter button had already gotten pressed. Huh? How? When?

Opening the image in Lightroom I had to boost the Exposure to 4.41! Gotta love shooting in RAW. After doing a little more light post processing this is what I came up with. Almost looks more like a painting as it was a 13 second exposure, with the camera moving around as I was getting things level.

Century Lake

What the…? 🙂

Gear used/Specs:
Tripod
Olympus OM-D E-M5
m. Zuiko 12-50mm kit lens @ 34mm
Variable Neutral Density Filter
ISO 200
Aperture: f/22
Shutter Speed: 13 seconds

2 thoughts on “MALIBU CREEK STATE PARK – PART III

  1. Wow! That is a crazy-good recovery from a “whoops!”. It looks amazing! I have heard people say that they would often rather be lucky than good, and I couldn’t understand what they meant. I know I would certainly never tried this in a thousand years, and it came out fabulous. Really striking….

    Like

Leave a Reply

