Landscape Abstract II

Wildwood Park Abstracts

I’ve really been missing my walks/hikes in nature so I finally decided I wasn’t going to let the wind stop me any more.

I got to Wildwood Park around 3:15, changed into my hiking shoes and I was on my way. I brought my camera, “just in case,” but I left my tripod at home…bad mistake! 😦 There were beautiful clouds and the sun seemed to be sinking quickly, or at least it was hiding behind the clouds. I could have upped the ISO but really didn’t want to. Also, since there was mostly just dried brush and cacti all around I decided to try what I do with my flower photography and try for some abstracts. The light, shadows and textures made for some interesting abstracts. Here are some of my favorites…

Landscape Abstract I

Landscape Abstract I

Gear used/Specs:
Olympus OM-D E-M5
m. Zuiko 12-50mm kit lens @ 12mm
ISO 200
Aperture: f/7.1
Shutter Speed: 0.5 seconds

Post processed in Lightroom

I love this next one as you can’t tell if the lower part is clouds or sand dunes. (It is neither of those)

Landscape Abstract II

Landscape Abstract II

Gear used/Specs:
Olympus OM-D E-M5
m. Zuiko 12-50mm kit lens @ 40mm
ISO 200
Aperture: f/11
Shutter Speed: 1 second

Post processed in Lightroom

Since I’m finding it harder to find time to post-process more photos from this hike, I’m going to leave it with the two above and create another post for part 2.

Thanks for visiting and sorry it has taken me a couple of days to get this posted. 😦

10 thoughts on “Wildwood Park Abstracts

  1. Pingback: Alien Surface | DS Photography

    • Thank you for the like and your question. They were done in camera. I used a panning motion on the top one and for the bottom I also added some up and down motion. I also turned off the in-camera stabilization. I used Lightroom to open the shadows and add a little more color in some areas.

      Like

      • WE Left in ’97 – lived in our motor homes for next fifteen years going back and forth across the USA and many points in between.. WE lost our town house in the 94 earth quake. We sometimes miss our life that we had in Calif.. You have a great Christmas.

        Like

      • I know how rattled I felt after the 94 quake, I can’t even begin to imagine what it must have felt like to you, living so much closer. Thankfully there hasn’t been anything nearly that strong since then. I bet you have a lot of great memories of travelling across the US for the past 15 years.

        Like

      • Yes I do have lots of memories and photographs. The Grand Canyon was the greatest but then Las Vegas is pretty high up there on my list, being it was only 288 miles fromhome.

        Like

Leave a Reply

