Alien Surface RAW screen shot

Alien Surface

If you’ve been following the blog for a while then you know I’m a science fiction kind of gal. I’m not into the doom and gloom kind of science fiction; I love the thought of time travel, travelling to other planets and that sort of thing.

In my previous post I showed two abstract landscape images I did, today is a shot from the beginning of the hike. As I was post processing in Lightroom, I wasn’t crazy about the way it was turning out so I started playing around. In the presets I found one called “Tonal Contrast – Medium” and I liked what it had done, but felt it was more of a starting point.

I then decided to play with the Split Toning and that’s when things started to come together. As I played with color combinations I really liked the rusty orange for the shadows and a somewhat beige color for the highlights. It was starting to look like the surface of another planet. Then my imagination kicked in with the lens flare on the right and some sort of light streaks on the left. Instead of trying to hide/cover up those “imperfections” I felt it could add to the picture. You get to decide whether the ball of light is an alien life form or…??? The beams on the left might be life forms getting ready to beam down into that area.

The more I play with Lightroom, the more I love it!

Alien Surface

Alien Surface

Gear used/Specs:
Olympus OM-D E-M5
m. Zuiko 12-50mm kit lens @ 12mm
ISO 200
Aperture: f/22
Shutter Speed: 1/80

Post processed in Lightroom

Oh, and here is a screen shot of the RAW file

Alien Surface RAW screen shot

Alien Surface RAW screen shot

One thought on “Alien Surface

  1. Pingback: Alien Surface II | DS Photography

Leave a Reply

