Moon-rise 01-08-12

Sunset and Rising Moon

Today’s post, like yesterday’s, focuses on the importance of looking all around when taking pictures. It is also a good reminder for me as I don’t always do that.

I had hiked up to this high location on a hill and was taking pictures of the beautiful sunset and clouds. Once the sun dipped below the Channel Islands, something made me turn around and there was the moon rising up from behind another hill. I quickly changed lenses and started shooting the moon. Unfortunately the moon was rising faster from behind the hill and I missed what I considered the best shots of the moon.

Here is the third from the last shot of the sunset:

Sunset 01-08-12

Interesting cloudy sunset

Gear used/Specs:
Tripod
Nikon D5100
Nikon 18-55mm kit lens @ 20mm
ISO 250
Aperture: f/5.6
Shutter Speed: 1/125

Post processed in Lightroom

Here is the first moon-rise I was able to capture:

Moon-rise 01-08-12

Moon rising in the East

Gear used/Specs:
Tripod
Nikon D5100
Nikon 55-300mm kit lens @ 240mm
ISO 560
Aperture: f/5.3
Shutter Speed: 1/250

Leave a Reply

