Feeding Frenzy

Feeding Frenzy

Yesterday I got my camera and tripod out and went to the duck pond at a (somewhat) local park; I was also armed with a 1 quart zip lock bag of bird seed. My intention was to use a slow(er) shutter speed to create more of an abstract feel/show movement.

I was surprised how many birds came over to me after the first 3-4 throwings of bird seed. There were mallards, mud hens, geese, and some other birds whose names I don’t know. After about 5 minutes you couldn’t even see the ground, there were that many birds. There were 3 male mallards that came right up to me wanting some bird seed; when they got impatient waiting for food they tapped their beak against my shin…they reminded me of the dogs at home begging for food! 🙂

This is one of the few images where you can actually make out two birds. It truly was a feeding frenzy.

Feeding Frenzy

Feeding Frenzy

Gear used/Specs:
Tripod
Olympus OM-D E-M5
m. Zuiko 12-50mm kit lens @ 50mm
ISO 200
Aperture: f/14
Shutter Speed: 1/6

Post processed in Lightroom

Leave a Reply

