Dried Thistle

Dried Thistle

While camping in San Simeon State Park in August of 2009, I went out for a walk but it was mostly to find things to take pictures of. One of the things I saw was this dried thistle with spider webs running through and around it.

Post processing was done in Lightroom with editing done in Corel’s PaintShop Pro X6 Ultimate. I first duplicated the background layer, then ran the Fractalius plugin on said duplicated layer…I modified the “Artflakes” preset for this look. Once it was done processing, I lowered the opacity of the layer and created a mask to bring in the darkness of the “curls”. Once I had everything the way I liked it, I found this frame (as part of PSP’s included frames) to use.

Dried Thistle

Dried Thistle

Taken with the Canon PowerShot S3 IS in August of 2009
ISO: 80
Focal Length: 56.8mm
Aperture: f/3.5
Shutter Speed: 1/320

Post processed in Lightroom

Leave a Reply

