Dying cactus flower

Life Cycle of a Cactus Flower

In yesterday’s post on Hummingbird Dreams Photography, I did a photo of one of the recent cactus flowers, but I also got pictures before it opened and after it closed.

Here I will show you the image and tell you the date and time the photo was taken, so that you can get an idea of how fleeting these beauties really are.

This first image was taken on May 4, 2014 at 6:34:31 pm.

Cactus Bud

Cactus Bud taken at 6:34:31 pm on May 4th, 2014

The next morning I was opening up the doggy door, I happened to glance up, and through the glass I saw that the flower was open! I grabbed my camera and tripod and headed outside in my bathrobe. The time of the first photo was 6:07:42 AM…yes, I’m an early riser who doesn’t need an alarm clock. 🙂 Since I wasn’t sure what time it had opened, and didn’t want to miss my photo op, I took close up photos until 6:30.

This photo was taken on May 5, 2014 at 9:06:37 am just before I started playing ball with one of the dogs.

Flower in full bloom

Yesterday’s bud is now in full bloom

Here it is close up

Up close and personal

It was pretty breezy so all the delicates were getting blown around

I’m so glad that I caught it earlier this morning because when I got home, after helping a friend with their computer, the flower was already closed (around 2:00). This is what it looked like at 4:54 pm.

Dying cactus flower

At 4:54 it was already on its way out. You can hardly see the flower.

And a crop from the above photo. There is a bud just above the closed flower and another bud to the far right.

Dying cactus flower

Cropped from the previous photo

I hope that you enjoyed seeing the life cycle of a cactus flower. Thank you for visiting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

