Weekly Photo Challenge | Work of Art

Weekly Photo Challenge: Work of Art

In this weeks photo challenge we are to “share a photo of something that’s art to you. It could be some actual “art,” like a painting by your grandmother or the misshapen but perfect clay sculpture your child brought home from kindergarden, or something most people wouldn’t consider beautiful at all, but that has meaning to you. The important thing is that it’s art in your eyes.”

For me, one of my prized possessions is this bear carved out of the gem stone called amethyst. I bought it in San Luis Obispo, CA in the late 90s. I don’t remember if the person who carved it lived there or if the owner of the store regularly bought carvings from the person. Outside of the fine detail of the bear, I love being able to place my thumb and forefinger in the smooth area where the artist held the stone while carving.

Weekly Photo Challenge | Work of Art

Left and Right side of an Amethyst Bear I bought in San Luis Obispo, CA

To see other “Works of Art” click here. Thank you for taking the time to look at my interpretation. 🙂

Leave a Reply

