Weekly Photo Challenge - Abandoned (2)

Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned

For this weeks challenge I wanted to use some photos that I had taken in my “film” days. There were two photos of Anasazi ruins in New Mexico and one photo was taken in the Yucatan Peninsula in Mexico. I tried scanning them with the All-in-One printer we have but I wasn’t crazy about the way they were coming out. (I might try re-scanning them later on.)

I didn’t want to feel bummed so I decided to take a break and go for a walk with two of the little dogs. I lucked out! I found an abandoned umbrella in the nearby shopping center and took a picture with my phone. The bad news: the app locked up my phone and it didn’t get saved. The good news: while taking the big dog for a walk two poems about the umbrella came to me. When I got home from the second walk I grabbed my camera and walked back to the shopping center and the umbrella was still there!

First the poems:

So this is where I lie
Totally abandoned by
The One I was to keep dry
S’pose this is where I’ll die


The rain it came so fast
My arms they could not last
They tossed me on my head
Broken, crumpled, dead

Here’s my submission for the Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned combined with last weeks Weekly Photo Challenge: Threes (since I’m showing three views of the abandoned umbrella).

Left Photo, Gear used/Specs:
Olympus OM-D E-M5
m. Zuiko 12-50mm kit lens @ 35mm
ISO: 200
Aperture: f/5.6
Shutter Speed: 1/20

Middle Photo, Gear used/Specs:
Olympus OM-D E-M5
m. Zuiko 12-50mm kit lens @ 50mm
ISO: 200
Aperture: f/6.3
Shutter Speed: 1/15

Right Photo, Gear used/Specs:
Olympus OM-D E-M5
m. Zuiko 12-50mm kit lens @ 37mm
ISO: 200
Aperture: f/5.7
Shutter Speed: 1/20

Post processed in Lightroom

6 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Abandoned | Joe's Musings

  2. Pingback: 3-3-14 Abandon The Weekly Photo Challenge? No! | The Quotidian Hudson

  3. Pingback: WPC Abandoned | Words 'n Pics...

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Humbly Abandoned | Humbled Pie

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: More Abandoned | Humbled Pie

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned | Through the Eye of Bastet

Leave a comment